Prophet's Prey

Add to Cart View Cart Checkout

Product Code: XB325
Title: Prophet's Prey: My Seven-Year Investigation into Warren Jeffs and the Fundamentalist Church of Latter-Day Saints
Author: Sam Brower
Publisher: Bloomsbury
List Price: $17.00
Our Price: $15.50
Date: 2011
Pages: 323
Additional Info: Preface by Jon Krakauer


From back cover:

From the private investigator who cracked open the case that led to the arrest of Warren Jeffs, the maniacal prophet of the polygamous Fundamentalist Church of Latter-Day Saints (FLDS), comes the compelling, horrifying story of how a rogue sect used sex, money, and power disguised under a facade of religion to further criminal activities and a madman's vision.

Despite considerable press coverage and many lengthy legal battles, the full story has remained largely untold. Only one man can reveal the whole, astounding truth: private investigator Sam Brower, who devoted years of his life to breaking open the secret practices of the FLDS and bringing Jeffs and his inner circle to justice. In Prophet's Prey, Brower implicates Jeffs in his own words, bringing to light the contents of Jeffs's personal priesthood journal, discovered in a hidden underground vault, and reveals to readers the shocking inside world of FLDS members whose trust he earned and who showed him the staggering truth of their lives.

Prophet's Prey offers the gripping, behind-the-scenes account of a bizarre world from the only man who knows the full story.

Table of Contents

Preface by Jon Krakauer


  1. Prey
  2. Ross
  3. "Uncle Warren?"
  4. UEP v. Holm
  5. Big Willie
  6. P.I.
  7. The Father
  8. Lost Boys
  9. Headmaster
  10. Coup
  11. Diversity
  12. Blood Atonement
  13. Death in the Family
  14. Stepmothers and Wives
  15. Predator
  16. The Record
  17. Whirlwind
  18. Twenty-one Men
  19. There to Stay
  20. On the Run
  21. Mancos
  22. Janetta
  23. Wicked
  24. Candi
  25. Twelve Years Old
  26. Grand Jury
  27. On the Road
  28. The Turf War
  29. Arrest
  30. Guilty
  31. Elissa
  32. Sarah
  33. Standoff
  34. Search
  35. Seizure
  36. Backfire
  37. Sinking Ship
  38. Stalker
  39. Town Without Pity
  40. The Telephone


Add to Cart View Cart Checkout

Authors Only | Authors with Titles | Titles by Category | Titles Only

Home | FAQs | What's New | Topical Index | Testimony | Newsletters | Online Resources | Online Books | Booklist | Order/Contact | Email | Other Websites